Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2024, 07:46 PM   #1
Silver Member

Default Fan options for cooling absorption refrigerator

I'm just beginning to troubleshoot a report from my wife that the refrigerator in our 2006 RT Popular 190 wasn't working well toward the end of a recent trip. I had this thread open in my browser for some time per chance I would need some of the info there.

After a couple of hours being on, and the sun beating on the refrigerator side of the van (not optimal I know) I do feel the freezer getting cold, the fridge is so far lagging behind (normal for sure).

Here's what prompted me to post this. I an attempt to see if/what a fan blowing over the coils would do to help cooling, I discovered that the refrigerator plugs into 120 VAC. I have a 120VAC fan I wanted to use for this experiment. Thinking longer term, I'm wondering if folks have used 120 VAC fans in that area long term? I know the disadvantage over a 12V fan is the inverter needs to be running, dropping overall efficiency. Not sure if a 12V fan or 120 VAC fan is more efficient in terms of actually moving air though. If so, a simple plug expander would allow me to plug in 120 VAC fans and the refrigerator into the same outlet, greatly simplifying wiring.
sbslider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2024, 08:17 PM   #2
Bud
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbslider View Post
I'm just beginning to troubleshoot a report from my wife that the refrigerator in our 2006 RT Popular 190 wasn't working well toward the end of a recent trip. I had this thread open in my browser for some time per chance I would need some of the info there.

After a couple of hours being on, and the sun beating on the refrigerator side of the van (not optimal I know) I do feel the freezer getting cold, the fridge is so far lagging behind (normal for sure).