Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-15-2024, 04:36 PM   #1

Default preparing van for towing.

being a complete newbie to towing I was curiouss what I should do to my van to have it as ready as possible for towing things.

I have a 2000 Express 3500 LS extended wheel base van with the 10k tow rating. its obviously 24 years old with 220k miles but mechanically it is sound, although leaks some oil.

I was thinking of having all the suspensions swapped with new parts because I don't know how old it all is and I can tell the bushings are well past their prime. I'm thinking anything with a bushing, ball joint, rod end, etc.

I am not sure what to do on the rear though because it looks like I can get new shackles but not bushings for the leaf springs?

new fluids all around? Brake system checks?

I want the thing to be as solid as possible before doing this eaarly next year. I have two things to pull, one is motorcycle and then eventually I will have another car to pull that will probably weigh about 5500 pounds.

I assume a trailer brake system is needed.
bigbacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2024, 02:07 PM   #2
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbacon View Post
being a complete newbie to towing I was curiouss what I should do to my van to have it as ready as possible for towing things.

I have a 2000 Express 3500 LS extended wheel base van with the 10k tow rating.
I want the thing to be as solid as possible before doing this eaarly next year. I have two things to pull, one is motorcycle and then eventually I will have another car to pull that will probably weigh about 5500 pounds.

I assume a trailer brake system is needed.