Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-11-2024, 11:22 PM   #1

Smile Installing a generator in 1999 Roadtrek 190 Pop

Hi,
I'm new to this and I found a Roadtrek 1999 Popular 190 im interested in buying.
It has no generator and I will be in Florida often so I need AC at night .

Any suggestions ?

How difficult / expensive is it to :
have someone install an Oman generator ?
Or Solar / Lithium ?

Thanks in advance ! Tim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pop RV.jpg (137.5 KB, 10 views)
Tim C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:14 PM   #2
Bronze Member

While I can't answer your questions directly, I will ask if you have been in a Class B (van) with a generator so you have a sense of how loud they can be? While it may not be particularly louder than the AC itself, having noise coming from above (A/C) and below (gen) might be challenging for sleeping. Also, pay attention to where you will be staying since a lot of places do not allow generators to run during quiet hours (typically 10pm-8am or something like that). Also, keep in mind that generators need to be serviced like any other engine (oil and filter changes, etc), which can be challenging while mounted underneath the vehicle.

If you can't tell, I am not a fan of generators. I understand that they can offer a much longer power-supply time than batteries, and might even cost less to install than an appropriate-sized battery system, but I still don't like them for the noise (primarily) and maintenance (secondarily). If you haven't experienced one in person, I highly recommend looking into it before paying to have one installed.
sparkyfourhire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:45 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C View Post
Hi,
I'm new to this and I found a Roadtrek 1999 Popular 190 im interested in buying.

Any suggestions ?

Or Solar / Lithium ?

Thanks in advance ! Tim